Jim Nill [600x600]
Jim Nill [600x600] (Credit: Associated Press)

Hayes U S win shows progress before Olympics

Jim Nill of the Dallas Stars won the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award, the NHL announced Monday night.

Nill was the top choice of 17 of 42 voters to run away with the honors. Vancouver's Patrik Allvin was second and Florida's Bill Zito third after building a team that has reached the Stanley Cup Final two years in a row.

GM of the year is the only award voted on during the playoffs, with the first two rounds considered. The Stars reached the Western Conference final for a second consecutive season before losing to Edmonton in six games.

Among other moves, Nill acquired defenseman Chris Tanev at the trade deadline without giving up a first-round pick or the organization's top prospect. The respected talent evaluator has four Cup rings from his tenure with the Detroit Red Wings.

Dallas was the No. 1 seed in the Western Conference, and defeated the Vegas Golden Knights and Colorado Avalanche to advance to the third round.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.